BTS Wins Album of the Year 2021 MAMA

BTS scooped up the most trophies of the night on Saturday at the Mnet Asian Music Awards, the region’s largest music awards ceremony.

The event known as MAMA, which was offered as a global live stream telecast via YouTube and a host of other platforms, also hailed artists such as Ed Sheeran and Wanna One. The honors for BTS included album of the year, artist of the year, song of the year and worldwide icon of the year.

“For all of those who had difficult times this year, to share strength and comfort, we tried new things in making music and we worked really hard,” BTS said during their acceptance speech. “‘Butter’ and ‘Permission to Dance’ gained enormous love this year, we will share this honor with everyone who worked hard to make great music and performances with us.”

Singer and TV personality Lee Hyori, MAMA’s first female host, opened the ceremony that originated from Hong Kong, as MAMA has since 2012. She was followed by a performance by fourth-generation idols Hyunjin of Stray Kids, Wooyoung of ATEEZ, Yeji of ITZY, Yeonjun of TOMORROW X TOGETHER, Karina of aespa and Heeseung of Enhypen.

Additionally, “Bad Habits” singer Sheeran performed a mashup of his hit single along with “Shivers” from his new album “Equals.”

Here is a complete list of 2021 Mnet Asian Music Award winners:

Artist of the Year: BTS
Song of the Year: BTS (“Butter”)
Album of the Year: BTS (“BE”)
Worldwide Icon of the Year: BTS

Worldwide Fans’ Choice Top 10: Stray Kids, NCT DREAM, NCT 127, ENHYPEN, TXT, BTS, BLACKPINK’s Lisa, SEVENTEEN, TREASURE, TWICE
Best New Artist (Female): aespa
Best New Artist (Male): ENHYPEN
Best Group (Female): TWICE
Best Group (Male): BTS
Best Artist (Female): IU
Best Artist (Male): EXO’s Baekhyun
Best Vocal Performance: IU (“Celebrity”)
Best Dance Performance (Solo): BLACKPINK’s Rosé (“On the Ground”)
Best Dance Performance (Female Group): aespa (“Next Level”)
Best Dance Performance (Male Group): BTS
Best Collaboration: AKMU (“NAKKA” with IU)
Best Music Video: BTS
KTO (Korean Tourism Organization) Breakout Artist: Brave Girls
Best Band Performance: JANNABI (“A thought on an autumn night”)
Best Hip Hop & Urban Music: ASH ISLAND (“Melody”)
Best OST: Jo Jung Suk (“I Like You” from “Hospital Playlist 2”)
TikTok Favorite Moment: BTS
Choreographer of the Year: Leejung Lee
Best Engineer of the Year: Gu Jong Pil, Kwon Nam Woo
Best Video Director of the Year: Lumpens
Best Art Director of the Year: MU:E
Best Composer of the Year: Yoo Young Jin
Best Producer of the Year: Teddy
Best Executive Producer of the Year: Bang Si Hyuk
Best New Asian Artist (Vietnam): Hoang Duyen
Best New Asian Artist (Indonesia): Lyodra
Best New Asian Artist (Thailand): SPRITE X GUYGEEGEE
Best New Asian Artist (Mandarin): Anson Lo
Best New Asian Artist (Japan): Ado
Best Asian Artist (Vietnam): Quan A.P.
Best Asian Artist (Indonesia): Anneth
Best Asian Artist (Thailand): Tilly Birds
Best Asian Artist (Mandarin): ACCUSEFIVE
Best Asian Artist (Japan): JO1
Favorite Asian Artist: INI
Favorite International Artist: Ed Sheeran

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *